San Juan Bautista

Near Monterey, stands a mission along the California Mission Trail. It also stands on the San Andreas Fault! San Juan Bautista is a beautiful, small mission founded in 1797. Below is the church. Some of the tiles that make the floor have paw prints of cats that walked over them while they were drying, over 180 years ago! Another note of interest is that parts of Alfred Hitchcock’s movie, Vertigo, was filmed here.

The church at Mission San Juan Bautista near Monterey, CA. Photo by Not So SAHM
Mission San Juan Bautista – ProjectEdit365 – 26 Jan

The original photo was dim and blah. I wanted to add more texture. I increased the contrast and clarity to help with that. I lightened the shadows and only slightly increased the exposure. I adjusted the tone curve to give it a matte look. Then I used an adjustment brush to give the ceiling more texture. I am so glad I had my aperture stopped down to f/13 – it gives the lights that starburst effect. Believe me, I didn’t have that in mind. But I like it! In reading about it, I found that the number of points on your starburst depends on how many “blades” your lens has to open/close the aperture. My stars have 14 points so I have 7 blades in this lens (Canon 17-55mm). Here’s the original:

26jan

~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~

2 thoughts on “San Juan Bautista

Leave a Reply

