Secret Woods

There’s a really cool park in Broward County called Secret Woods Nature Center. There are several walks through the woods and marsh with lots of cool flora and fauna. One of the paths leads out to the river where we were hoping to see manatees, which are “in season” right now to view.

We didn’t see any manatees, but we had great luck finding awesome trees like the one below to pose with.

Girl kneels in tree with cool, exposed roots. Not So SAHM
Secret Woods – ProjectEdit365 – 12 Jan

The original was too bright for the mood I was aiming for. I used the Tone Curve slider to matte the photo and then I lowered the exposure and increased the clarity. The top part of the picture had sun flare so I used a graduated filter to lower the exposure. I used the radial filter to draw an oval around her. I decreased the exposure and increased the clarity and contrast of her surroundings. I then used several different adjustment brushes. I increased the contrast of her hair – that makes it look shinier. I sharpened her eyes and increased the clarity on her face. Then I used one to make some light beams come down from the upper left of the photo. I thought about warming up those beams, but it didn’t fit in with the look of the whole photo. Here’s the original:

12jan

~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~

2 thoughts on “Secret Woods

  1. Your editing fits this photo perfectly. But also the composition stands out! Red and blue go together so perfectly and I love how tree-trunk, hair and the red cape (or whatever you call that) fall into a line, as well that this beautiful young lady sits on the rule of 3rd line looking into the picture. You nailed that one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

